HSPLS site
HSPLS site
 Search 
 My Account 
 Databases 
 HI Newspaper 
 eBooks/Audiobooks 
 Learning 
 PC Reservation 
 Reading Program 
   
 
Item Information
 HoldingsHoldings
  Summary
  More Content
 
 
 More by this author
 
  •  
  • Rajchman, Chil.
     
     Subjects
     
  •  
  • Rajchman, Chil.
     
  •  
  • Treblinka (Concentration camp)
     
  •  
  • Jews -- Poland -- Treblinka -- Biography.
     
  •  
  • Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) -- Poland -- Treblinka -- Personal narratives.
     
     Browse Catalog
      by author:
     
  •  
  •  Rajchman, Chil.
     
      by title:
     
  •  
  •  The last Jew of Treb...
     
     
     
     MARC Display
    The last Jew of Treblinka : a survivor's memory 1942-1943 / Chil Rajchman; translated from the Yiddish by Solon Beinfeld.
    by Rajchman, Chil.
    View full image
    New York : Pegasus Books, 2011.
    Subjects
  • Rajchman, Chil.
  •  
  • Treblinka (Concentration camp)
  •  
  • Jews -- Poland -- Treblinka -- Biography.
  •  
  • Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) -- Poland -- Treblinka -- Personal narratives.
  • ISBN: 
    9781605981390 :
    1605981397 :
    Description: 
    xx, 138 p., [16] p. of plates : ill., maps, ports. ; 22 cm.
    Edition: 
    1st Pegasus Books cloth ed.
    Requests: 
    0
    Summary: 
    Why do some live while so many others perish? Tiny children, old men, beautiful girls; in the gas chambers of Treblinka, all are equal. The Nazis kept the fires of Treblinka burning night and day, a central cog in the wheel of the Final Solution. There was no pretense of work here like in Auschwitz or Birkenau, only a train platform and a road covered with sand. A road that led only to death. But not for the author, a young man who survived working as a "barber" and "dentist," heartsick with witnessing atrocity after atrocity. Yet he managed to survive so that somehow he could tell the world what he had seen. How he found the dress of his little sister abandoned in the woods. How he was forced to extract gold teeth from the corpses. How every night he had to cover the body pits with sand. How every morning the blood of thousands still rose to the surface. Many have courageously told their stories, and in the tradition of Elie Wiesel's Night and Primo Levi's Survival at Auschwitz and The Drowned and the Saved, the author provides the only survivors' record of Treblinka. Originally written in Yiddish in 1945 without hope or agenda other than to bear witness, this tale shows that sometimes the bravest and most painful act of all is to remember.
    Add to my list 
    Copy/Holding information
    LocationCollectionCall No.Status 
    Hawaii State LibraryLanguage, Literature & History940.5318 Rajchman RaChecked InAdd Copy to MyList
    Kapolei Public LibraryAdult Nonfiction940.5318 RAJCHMAN RaChecked InAdd Copy to MyList
    Mililani Public LibraryAdult Nonfiction940.5318 Rajchman RaChecked InAdd Copy to MyList


    Horizon Information Portal 3.25_9382
     Powered by Dynix
    © 2001-2013 SirsiDynix All rights reserved.
    Horizon Information Portal